The 3 F’s Part 3 – God Save the Queen!

by hannahb21

Regular readers of HannahRamble will know that I love food and the only time my love of food grows is when it is shared with friends.

The Event

To celebrate Her Majesty the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee I had a few friends over food and wine. I went all out with the decorations we had Union jack bunting, cups and napkins. Outside of the house hung a large Union Jack flag and some more bunting because there is no such thing as too much bunting!

The Menu

You would have thought that my menu would have reflected Great Britain and included dishes such as Coronation chicken or pork pie with some simple salads? If so, then guess again. I learnt from my last dinner party that the key is in the preparation which was my main motivation for creating a selection of Ottolenghi inspired salads. For those who don’t know, Ottolenghi is one of my favourite restaurants and I was desperate to introduce my friends to this incredible style of food. After much deliberation my final menu was:

Lemon, Garlic and Coriander roasted chicken 

Tapenade, Slow roasted tomato, red onion and ripe brie Jubilee Tart

Roast sweet potato and pepper salad with feta and pomegranate

Three bean salad with roasted hazelnuts with a lemon and chive dressing

Char grilled cauliflower, spinach and cherry tomato salad with wholegrain mustard and capers

A simple mixed leaf salad

 Time for Dessert

For dessert I tried out Heston Blumenthals Strawberry Crumble Crunch it didn’t look as neat and polished as Heston’s but it definitely tasted of summer. I also cheated a bit and bought a chocolate dessert because one cheat means you can spend more time with your guests.

Final Thoughts

The feedback on the night was positive and it’s the positive feedback that makes all the hard work worth it.  Cooking for 12 people isn’t easy.

I love entertaining friends and its the company that makes the food which in turn makes the evening…that and a good game of ‘Who am I’ and ‘Articulate’!

