Here’s something I made earlier (well the other day)…

by hannahb21

It was a cold winter’s night. I was shattered after a long week at work and an early morning Saturday shift at Eynsham Hall (aka my job on the side).  I had to try and cook something in a kitchen I am not too familiar with and a fridge that contained items of mystery (basically I had no idea what was in the fridge). I racked my brains and picked out some ingredients which, somehow, turned into a Mediterranean feast of Prawn linguini with a chilli tomato sauce and a hint of crème fraiche.

Not one to blow my own trumpet but I thought it was quite tasty (if a little spicy…got too excited when adding the chilli oops!)  I have decided to put it on here just to show you can make something tasty quickly with few ingredients and little washing up! Perfecto!

Hannah’s Prawn linguini with a chilli tomato sauce and crème fraiche

Recipe serves 2 hungry people but could stretch to 3 people with a normal not so ravenous appetite

Preparation Time: 5 minutes approx

Cooking Time:20 minutes approx

What you Need:

1 pack of cooked and peeled king prawns

1 pepper (your choice of colour but I recommend yellow or red)

1 clove of garlic

Half a red onion

1 tin of chopped tomatoes (whole peeled tomatoes is also fine just make sure you break them up in the pan)

½ tsp of Chilli flakes (NB. Remember you can always add but you can never take away! Keep adding the chilli to suit your taste. I made the mistake of putting in too much which I couldn’t remove!)

2 tsp dried Basil (or handful of fresh, I had to use dried as that was all we had)

Olive oil (just enough to make sure nothing sticks)

What to do:

Heat some olive oil in a frying pan.

Add the finely diced onion then the garlic.

Once the onion and garlic has softened add the sliced pepper.

Soften together in the pan for around 5 minutes. Please take care not to brown or blacken the onion and garlic as it makes the sauce bitter. NB. You can also add a table spoon or two of white wine at this stage to help the softening process

Empty the chopped tomatoes into the pan.

Allow to warm through for a couple of minutes before adding the dried basil (if using fresh basil add just before serving to keep the bright green colour of the leaves) and chilli flakes whilst remembering less is more and you can always add but you can’t always take away.

Leave to simmer gently for 20 minutes (or until nice and thick)

Put the pasta on to cook 10 minutes before the sauce is due to finish cooking.

Just before you drain the pasta add the prawns (chopped in half lengthways down the back) to the reduced sauce.

Stir in the crème fraiche and then combine the pasta and sauce before serving.

YUM YUM IN MY TUM!

